Tags

,

I was delighted to hear about the Flybrary at Cape Town International Airport. This is a simple concept whereby one takes a book (or two or three) to the airport library in exchange for selecting one or the same number. I had to search for it, tucked away at the international arrivals – down the long walkway.

I had taken a book to donate and was delighted with the one I selected. The books are interesting and varied: old, new fiction and non-fiction, hardcover and paperback.

There were no flights arriving at the time of my visit and it was eerily quiet and I was alone. The honesty/ethical philosophy of one not taking a book without putting one into the library, is its charm. Let’s hope that everyone complies and that this wonderful initiative – the Ubuntu of reading – strengthens and that Flybraries open at all South African airports.

